In the Know

Boerum Hill, Meet Your Home Manager, Prysm

At Common Baltic in Boerum Hill, you can find private apartments, coliving suites, a beautiful roof deck, and Prysm, your Home Manager.

If you’re thinking of joining the community in Boerum Hill, scroll down to learn a bit more about Prysm through a conversation she had with our intern, Jon.

Prysm’s Origins

Q: Where are you from?

A: Philadelphia. That’s the easiest answer.

Q: What’s the hardest answer?

A: Southern New Jersey by way of Philadelphia. I guess South Jersey just sounds boring, so nobody is familiar with towns in southern New Jersey. If I say Jersey, then people think North Jersey, and that’s totally different.

Q: What town is it in South Jersey?

A: Marlton. It’s near Cherry Hill.

Q: I know Cherry Hill.

A: See, everyone knows Cherry Hill, so I usually say Cherry Hill. But Philadelphia sounds cooler. I lived in Queens for a while and just recently moved back to New Jersey, though a different part.

Q: So when you left home and moved to New York, when did you start feeling like a real New Yorker? 

A: It took about a year before I realized I had a life together here. Sitting on the subway on my way to work I thought “Oh my, I am doing it! I am a New Yorker!”

 

Behind the scenes

Q: What’s it like working for Common?

A: It’s great. I really enjoy the people I get to work with every day. I just have a lot of respect for my coworkers; it helps make it a very fun environment, and I feel like I’m always growing as a person, which I always appreciate from a job.

Pictured: some of Prysm’s coworkers working hard.

 

Q: What’s your favorite part of your job?

A: I like when I get someone set up and they’re really happy and excited. For example, I got an email back today from this couple who I got set up. I went through a lot of questions with them, and there were a lot of steps in the process. They were so excited and thankful, and knowing that I can be part of providing them with a positive experience is probably my favorite part.

A private bedroom at Common Baltic in Boerum Hill.

 

Q: What’s the biggest challenge of your job?

A: Making sure I communicate as clearly as possible. You have intentions when you say things, and my goal is always to be as clear and transparent as possible, but sometimes you learn that what you thought was clear is not always clear to other people.

Q: Does that apply inwardly as well? Like to fellow employees?

A: Yeah, to everyone. It’s just kind of being responsible for your communication overall because no matter who you’re talking to, whether they’re a Common employee, a member, or someone you’re touring, words are important, and finding the right ones are……it’s………y’know…a continuous process.

Q: I like that you struggled to find the right ones in that moment there. That is great.

A: hahaha!

 

Getting personal

Q: What is your favorite place in the world and why?

A: Burning Man.

Q: How many times have you been?

A: I’ve been four times. It’s actually a really harsh environment, but I love it for the experience of being there. The community it creates and how people are in that environment is really exciting and fascinating. It’s always a learning experience.

Q: Is that during the summer?

A: Yeah, it’s the third week in August.

 

Coliving tips

I have lived with roommates many times! I learned a few great lessons from my times with roommates, here are some:

  • You save a lot of grief letting go of the small things
  • If cleaning everyone’s dishes from time to time keeps the peace and makes a happy home, it’s worth the effort!
  • Potlucks are always a good idea.
  • Hang out indoors and get out of the house together sometimes too

 

One more thing

Q: Can you give us a fun fact about yourself?

A: Yes.

Q: Okay, great. What is that fun fact about yourself?

A: I have a few fun facts about myself.

Q: Please. Give multiple.

A: The one that everyone really likes because they find it fascinating is I was a hot dog street vendor for six years. You’re not usually expecting a young girl to be a hot dog vendor. I learned a lot.

Q: In New York?

A: No, that was in Philadelphia and South Jersey. Mostly in Camden, New Jersey, by the concert venues.

Q: Six years is quite a while.

A: Yeah, from 16 to 21. So that’s one fun fact. Another one is that I find four-leaf clovers quite often.

Q: What’s “quite often”? Can you narrow that down for me?

A: Over the course of my life, I’ve found in the hundreds.

Q: Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever found one.

A: Usually I find them when I’m not looking. When I’m looking at a patch of clovers, it’ll probably take me just as long as anyone else to find them, but I have this knack that if I look down, I just see them.

Q: Has that had any noticeable effect on your life? Have you been luckier?

A: I was born on St. Patrick’s Day, so I feel like that ties in somehow.

To join the community or learn more about Common Baltic, click here.

You Might Also Like

Follow Us on Instagram