logo-mark-black Created with Sketch.

Find my home
Search

Day in the life of a Maintenance Technician at Common: Jon Vohr

Discover what a day in the life is like for Jon Vohr, a Common Maintenance Technician in San Francisco. Keep reading to learn more about his experience, and head to www.common.com/careers to learn more about our company, our values, and how you can join our team.

maintenance technician

Hi Jon! Can you tell us more about your day to day working as at Common?

From my very first week at Common as a Maintenance Technician, I was amazed by how friendly and talented everyone at the company was! It’s rare to find a work environment where you’re genuinely happy with the whole team! It was easy to get adjusted and find a workflow that worked for me. I start out my day reviewing maintenance tickets, emails, and Slack messages and then head to the properties to follow up on any requests or repairs for the day.

maintenance technician

What do you love most about being a Maintenance Technician?

I love that my job opens up my day to meeting people from all walks of life, from members to trade partners to neighbors. It’s given me a better appreciation for the people in my community. I’m constantly learning new things. You never know what this job will throw at you and the solution can usually be found with a little research.

What has your team bonding experience been like pre and post-COVID restrictions?

Pre-COVID, our team had great outings together where we were able to meet people across different teams. One of my favorites was at Mission Bowling celebrating some real estate wins! We had a few staff in from out of town and we all had a great time.  Surprisingly, being a remote Maintenance Tech has given me more confidence and finding solutions while working with a large team. I’m confident that I’ll be more self-assured in my role once things begin to open up again.

maintenance technician

Some fun questions!

What do you love about San Francisco?

I love the art and music! There’s a dedicated community here that keeps at it against all odds.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I grew up on the coast in New England and wanted to be a tug boat captain!

Favorite Hobby?

Since COVID-19, I’ve been getting really into gravel biking! There are so many amazing places to explore in the Bay Area and it really opens up another way of experiencing it.

Favorite Place?

Definitely getting out hiking or backpacking in the Sierras. It’s just massive and there’s so much to explore.

Favorite Common home?

When I was working in Seattle I really loved Lakeview. It was a peaceful sanctuary away from all the hustle of the city!

maintenance technician

Do you love working with people? We’re hiring for our Property Service, Sales, and other home teams across the country. Head to our Careers page to learn more and apply!

Related posts in News: